This recipe is a great vegetarian alternative to dipping sauces made with fish sauce. I use a gluten-free tamari which I find has a smoother mellower taste than traditional soy sauce. This recipe uses ingredients similar to my fish sauce dipping sauce but I substitute rice wine vinegar for the distilled vinegar. Rice wine vinegar is sweeter than distilled vinegar and compliments the tamari perfectly. When my dishes require making dipping sauces, I always provide this wheat-free, vegetarian alternative. My friends and family love it and I hope you will too!
1/4 cup gluten-free tamari
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
1/4 cup water
2 Tbsp sugar
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 small red chili, finely chopped
In a small bowl stir together all ingredients until sugar is dissolved.
Can be stored in refrigerator, best if consumed within the week.
Yields: 3/4 cup